Getting Under 60: Week 8

This is the final week of my Getting Under 60 series. You can see the first post here.

I was really (really) worried about my progress this week. I think last week’s birthday treats caught up with me and I started craving more sugary and fatty foods. Walking through the grocery store was really hard…I just wanted chocolate and chips and junk. Then, on Wednesday, I thought I’d weigh myself to see how I was tracking – 61.2kg! I was horrified and despaired at the thought that I would not only miss my goal, but I’d actually gain the weight I’d worked hard to lose the last couple of weeks.

I stayed positive though and committed to sharing the hard truth here on my blog. But, to my surprise, after working hard to only eat good foods (which was really hard this week – we have had a crazy crazy week with assignments and uni commitments…like seriously crazy) yet we still attempted to stay healthy. Here are the results:

Weight: 59.9kg (-0.1kg)

Body Fat: 30% (-0.6%)

Morale: I am ecstatic that I actually reached my goal!

Exercise: a couple of bicycle rides, walking, squats and lunges.

Food: I have splurged on Subway, wedges and hot chips. Good foods have been avocados, eggs, fruit juices, and salads.

Drink:  water, Agrum (blood orange), hot chocolate and homemade juices.

I DID IT!!!

TOTAL Weight Loss:  -2.4kg (62.3kg – 59.9kg)

TOTAL Body Fat Change: -2.8% (32.8% – 30%)

I can’t tell you how good it felt to see that number; relief swept over me and I was so proud of my achievement even though it’s a small loss in the scheme of things.

Thanks for joining me through this challenge and encouraging me along the way.

Here is a picture of one of the juices we enjoyed this week.

Carrot Juice (carrots, celery, apples)

Have an amazing Monday!

Edit: I’m linking up with the domestic wannabe again this week :)

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

10 thoughts on “Getting Under 60: Week 8

  1. michelle says:

    Awesome work Haidy. So proud of you. It definitely takes a lot of willpower to take action and become healthier. Now to keep up your fantastic work. I’m sure u can do it. It just gets easier from here cos ur body stops craving bad food so much.

    • Haidy Baskin says:

      You’re so right Shell! I’ve already found that it’s easier to say no to bad foods and now I just need to keep it up. Thanks for your comment and your support. You are a health inspiration to me xx

  2. wartica says:

    Amazing job on reaching your goal ; you should be very proud of yourself:)

  3. Ashley says:

    Congrats on reaching your goal! My weigh in day is usually Thursdays, and sometimes I stupidly step on the scale on Monday to see the damage I’ve done. Never a good thing. I’m always much better off just sticking to one day a week.

    Keep up the good work!

    • Haidy Baskin says:

      Thanks Ashley! It was such a stupid idea to jump on those scales ahead of time. After I saw that number I kept weighing myself again and again every few hours hoping for a different result. Luckily it all worked out!

  4. Crazycurls says:

    Congrats!!! You can see in the pictures how proud you are, and you should be!!!

  5. Stacey says:

    Congratulations on reaching your goal Haidy! I’m currently working hard to make some changes in my body too and I understand how hard it can be regardless of where you are in your journey. I look forward to seeing you reach your next goal :)

    • Haidy Baskin says:

      Thanks Stace. In all honesty…I couldn’t have done it without the great advice you gave me! I appreciate it so much and haven’t had a chance to really tell you. I can’t wait to catch up again soon once we’re both free. And I’m excited to hear how your health goals are going. Thanks for being so inspiring :)

Leave a comment

