Getting Under 60: Week 7

This week I splurged a lot on food because we celebrated my birthday over the weekend. There were a few family specials, dinner’s out, and delicious food made by friends. I allowed myself to splurge without the guilt but I found that I could only have small portions of the foods I would have usually completely devoured in the past; I got full so quickly.

With that in mind, here are this week’s stats:

Weight: 60kg (-0.9kg)

Body Fat: 30.6% (-0.4%)

Morale: I’m feeling great! I am so thrilled with this weeks progress and I’ve been really positive all week – craving the good stuff :)

Exercise: a few bicycle rides, walking and lunges.

Food: I have splurged on Subway, hot chips, sopaipillas, pizza x2, chocolate ice-cream cake (yum), a Callipo icy-pole, hash browns, and too much olive oil on my salads. Good foods have been avocados, tomatoes, cucumber, eggs, fruit juices, green juices, bruschetta, and salads.

Drink:  water, coke and homemade juices.

I am so proud of this week’s effort. It’s nice to know I could enjoy my weekend with some birthday treats and still have a weight loss at the end of it because I looked after my portion sizes. Also, Lynden and I did a one day juice detox at the beginning of the week. It was really good, but I may have killed Lynden with the last juice I gave him (made up of kale, spinach, onion and garlic, ha!).

I nearly died on my first bicycle ride of the week even though it was the same short route I usually take. I think being sick recently slowed me down and my body had to regain it’s momentum. On Thursday night Lynden stayed late at uni finishing off an assignment so I decided to take the opportunity of being alone to only walk around the house doing lunges. Haha, you should’ve seen Asterix’s face as I lunged to the various rooms of the house. I can tell you, I certainly found a lot less excuses to move around that night and my thighs and bum were super sore the next couple of days! I absolutely hate hate hate lunges, but my body type consists of big thighs and hips so it’s one of those things I think I need to include in my workouts. Doing it this way was actually really good because my mind wasn’t focused on the lunges, rather I was trying to think of my destination. Yep, you think I’m crazy!

Anyway, I can’t believe I’m just 100 grams away from reaching my goal weight for this series! Seriously, last week I wasn’t sure I’d make it because my weight loss had slowed to a snail’s pace, but I’m so close now and feeling so healthy :D

Here are some of the healthy foods I made this week – the first couple are juices – I hope they inspire you in some way to make something healthy.

Juice (oranges, carrots, celery, apples, cucumber, ginger)

Green Savoury Juice (kale, italian spinach, onion, garlic, ginger, capsicum)

Salad for One (Italian spinach, tomato, cucumber, avocado, salt, olive oil, lemon)

When making a salad as a whole meal, I think it’s important to go big. Salads won’t be that filling over long periods of time if they don’t include protein so I like to make big salads in these cases.

Has anyone else had success this week? Please share :)

Edit: I’m linking up with the domestic wannabe – go check her out.

Tagged , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Getting Under 60: Week 7

  1. Haidy Baskin says:

    Thanks so much. It’s great to have a little encouragement :)

  2. Ashley says:

    You’re doing great! I might have to try that lunges around the house trick :). Thanks for linking up!

Leave a comment

