Downsizing

Replacing my car with a bicycle

Recently we’ve come to the realisation that it’s so much easier to be happy when you don’t have to stress over how much stuff you have. So, we are making some transitions towards downsizing our life and it already feels so right. Yes, I no longer have a car (we are in the process of selling it) so there is only one car between the two of us. And yesterday? Yesterday I got a bicycle to use for exercise and running errands around my neighbourhood. Luckily we have a store just down the street which will make it easier on my un-exercised legs. I like that I get a health benefit on top of the liberating feeling of getting rid of the big stuff.

When we were getting my bicycle yesterday, I asked the guy at the bike store if my bike could hold a basket…he just stared at me for a moment and said they didn’t have any woven baskets in stock but there were some metal ones around somewhere. Luckily I didn’t require a woven basket. I apologised for being so dorky but Lynden quickly jumped in and said, “I think you should get the basket…you really wanted a basket”. Thanks Lyn. And kudos to the guy at the store, he was really nice despite my weird requests.

And, of course I have a helmet that I wear whenever I ride my bike, but I thought I’d spare you having to see me in all my helmet glory. I’ll have to save that for a special moment ;)

Instead, please enjoy these pictures of me nearly falling off my bicycle, it’s been a while since I rode a bike.

Happy Thursday!

Tagged

2 thoughts on “Downsizing

  1. hemmita says:

    You are beautiful and unpredictable. I love you!!! Mum

Leave a comment

