Running

I have got some happy news this week. I have actually made good use of the treadmill two days in a row! This is big news for me since I hate the treadmill.

I used to love running. I’m a distance runner rather than a sprinter, it’s just the way my body’s wired. I used to be in the run club in primary school but in high school I got that annoying self-conscious thing and didn’t want to show my skills (ha!) in front of my peers. What if they saw me sweat? Gross. Haha. It seems so stupid now. Soooo, I let my fitness go and was only able to maintain a healthy weight simply by being a growing teenager…even though I’m really short so I obviously didn’t grow very much.

Anyway, I’m keen to get back into running. I remember one time at school during run club, I pushed myself really hard past the point where I thought I couldn’t keep going and once I passed that point my legs felt like they could run forever…easily. It was an amazing feeling. But…the treadmill is currently my enemy, mainly because I’m so unfit and running on the treadmill at the moment makes my throat burn/bleed :O

I realised I was putting off exercise because of a few reasons:

1. I didn’t like the thought of pushing myself so hard that it made me never want to exercise again. The thought of, “I have to exercise for 30 mins to get a real workout” made me lose interest.

2. By the time I got dressed to go to the gym and started tying my shoes, I had convinced myself not to go; it was too much of a hassle.

So what did I do to combat this?

1. I started up on the treadmill (at home) telling myself I could stop whenever I felt like it. Anything has to be better than nothing, right? I’m so proud of myself for this little achievement of running on the treadmill for 10 minutes two days in a row. I know some people say it’s not really a workout if you don’t go past 10 minutes. My sweat glands disagree! And, even though I did the same amount of time both days, I pushed myself harder today more-so than yesterday so I don’t feel like I’m stagnating. It felt good and it motivated me to want to do it again.

2. I literally ran in my underwear. Don’t worry, I was at home, not at the gym. Instead of giving myself that time to talk myself out of doing any exercise while I put on the perfect gym-wear, I whipped off my clothes, put on a sports bra, and ran barefoot on the treadmill. Yep, pretty silly (and probably tmi) but it worked, I did it :)

So, that’s my little achievement this week.

I also have to add that doing those runs made me feel like some fresh food for lunch. I made a delicious salad yesterday and am about to go make myself another one right now. Yum. Nothing beats tomato, cucumber, avocado, and baby greens topped with a drizzle of olive oil, lemon, garlic and salt.

P.S. I ate lots of chocolate last night which is dissapointing but again, I’m happy I’m moving forward instead of throwing my arms in the air and giving up :)

P.P.S. I look nowhere near as graceful when I run on the treadmill as the picture above!

P.P.P.S. (Are you sick of my P.S.’s yet?) I spend a lot of time on the computer editing, researching, surfing the web, assignmenting, chilling. It’s pretty much how I spend a big portion of my day so this would be perfect, haha

Click the images to follow the links.

Tagged , ,

Leave a comment

