Colour Calibrating my Screens

Sorry about my absence from the blog the last couple of days. I haven’t necessarily been really busy, I’m just trying to keep on top of everything and the blog has been the last thing on my mind.

This morning I spent a little bit of time trying to colour calibrate my screen on my laptop and the iMac but they’re still not matching up. One of the most annoying things is knowing that the way I’m seeing my images edited on one screen will be different to how they will be seen on another. In terms of my blog, I sometimes wonder how my images come across on the screen’s of the people viewing my images and I can only hope that it’s not all off.

I’ve been eyeing the Spyder 3 for a while, but it’s hard to justify the $200. It pretty much is a high-tech piece of equipment that does a really good job at calibrating your screen and syncing it with the settings on your printer as well. The images you see on the monitor should be the same as those you’re printing and the Spyder helps you calibrate that.

Since I don’t have the cash to spend on flashy equipment right now, does anyone have any other hardware or software recommendations, or techniques they use? At the moment I’ve just tried calibrating my screens using the colour calibration in my mac’s system preferences.

Tagged , ,

Leave a comment

