Goodbye Abuelita Rebeca

Today we attended the funeral of a beautiful family member who passed away on Monday. She had lived a remarkable and long life, reaching the amazing age of 99 – just one month off her hundredth birthday. Abuelita Rebeca was the grandmother of my cousins, and the matriarch of our family here in Australia as my only grandparent lives in Chile. I thank God for the time she shared with us here, and even though she had forgotten who I was by the end, I look forward to the day when I speak with her again in heaven.

I think the above bible verse is fitting for both this week’s theme of God’s love as well as a celebration of the fact that Abuelita’s strong faith gave her peace, comfort and strength in her last days.

Tagged ,

Leave a comment

