Be Still

This idea of being still is very difficult for me. I am in constant overdrive in my mind, there’s just so much to think about, contemplate, figure out. Yet, one of the ongoing messages in the bible is to be still.

“Be still, and know that I am God…” Psalms 46:10 (NKJV)

“Be still before the Lord, all mankind, because he has roused himself from his holy dwelling.” Zechariah 2:13 (NIV)

“Be still before the Lord and wait patiently for him; do not fret when men succeed in their ways, when they carry out their wicked schemes.” Psalms 37:7 (NIV)

“Now stand still and see the great thing the Lord will do before your eyes.” 1 Samuel 12:16 (NCV)

It makes a lot of sense to just stop doesn’t it? Especially with the tremendous busyness everyone seems to have fallen into. This idea of being still seems to be something that I need to incorporate in my life, simply for my own emotional health as well as my spiritual journey. I love that in the quiet, God speaks.

When was the last time you just stopped?

When was the last time you were still?

Tagged ,

Leave a comment

