Denmark

I don’t know when it started or what it was that pushed me over the edge, but I have a slight obsession with Denmark.

No, I’ve never been to Denmark; I’ve never even stepped a foot in Europe. Yet, I have established an unnatural love for this beautiful scandinavian country.

On mentioning Denmark in the past, I’ve had people respond with “where?” or “why?” or “I’ve never heard of it”. Unbelievable!

It’s a little country in Europe hidden behind the popularity of the big name countries, but oh how I love it – as much as a place can be loved without ever being seen in person.

According to multiple sources (here and here), Denmark has been voted the happiest or second happiest country in the world for a few years running. This alone is so inspiring to me; I love it when people are happy! I mean, even their power outlets are happy:

Although, I don’t have much to complain about, Australia is usually voted in the top five happiest countries too. Either way, it seems like my reality and my dream country are pretty good choices.

Apparently Danish is one of the hardest languages to learn so we won’t be moving there anytime soon. I do sometimes say to Lynden that I plan on learning Danish now so that by the time I have mastered it we can retire in Denmark and I can be his translator. He usually just smiles and nods…I don’t think he realises how serious I am ;)

Are there any places in the world you would just die to visit or live in if you had the chance?

(click on the images to view the source)

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a comment

