Lenses :: the wishlist

One of the first things you learn when you buy a DSLR (besides how awesome it is to shoot in manual mode), is how expensive it can be. The camera itself plays an important role, but don’t underestimate the importance of a good lens, usually the most expensive part. Unfortunately I did just that and bought my camera  (a Canon EOS 60D) which I love, with a kit lens. A cheapie lens without a lot of substance. Don’t get me wrong, I am so grateful for the lens I have (a Canon 18-55mm f3.5-5.6) for the learning curve we’ve shared together, but I feel stuck. The type of photography I love really requires a wider aperture to shoot in lower light situations without a flash, and also to give me the shallow depth of field effect that I love. The truth is, after a certain point, the lens you choose is sometimes more important than the camera itself – within reason.

Fortunately, there are lenses which have wide apertures that can also be within your price range. Here I’d like to share my Canon dream lenses and some affordable alternatives:

The Standard Lens – 50mm

DREAM LENS:
Canon EF 50mm f1.2L USM  $1,465.00

AFFORDABLE ALTERNATIVES:
Canon EF 50mm f1.4 USM  $256.00

Canon EF 50mm f1.8 II  $26.00 (wowzers!)

The Telephoto Lens – 85mm

DREAM LENS:
Canon EF 85mm f1.2L II USM  $2024.00

AFFORDABLE ALTERNATIVE:
Canon EF 85mm f1.8 USM  $325.00

The Macro Lens – 100mm

DREAM LENS:
Canon EF 100mm f2.8L Macro IS USM  $795.00

AFFORDABLE ALTERNATIVE:
Canon EF 100mm f2.8 Macro USM  $443.00

Sigh. Sometimes my love for photography looks so expensive!! This is currently my lens wishlist. No one has paid or endorsed me to write this post, it’s simply what I’ve been dreaming about and researching lately. Anyone else having expensive dreams?

Tagged , ,

Leave a comment

