Resolutions

I’ve been trying to put off blogging this post for as long as I could. I know that once I post it, I’ll feel the pressure to commit to my goals – which is good, but also scary. I have set myself up for failure with some of these, I’m sure, but I will try hard to keep it up. Blog…keep me accountable!!

I wrote this post on confidence in September and I’m feeling good about the small changes I’ve already made in the right direction. The truth is I do feel more confident already. I’ve been walking tall, thinking better about myself, praying even when I don’t have anything to ask for, and enjoying the silences. Here are the things I’d like to continue working on in 2012:

1. work on photoshop for at least 30 minutes three days a week

I really want to improve my editing skills (beyond Lightroom) so hopefully just playing around on Photoshop on a daily basis will help enhance my skills.

2. blog five times a week

Phew this is a pretty big commitment but I do love sharing ideas and thoughts online. I also love the documentation, the photography, the challenge of blogging. I want to start a few new things in blogging this year to really hone in on my passions – I’m still deciding exactly how I’m going to do this.

3. lose weight & get healthy

This resolution is the most likely to pop-up everywhere so I was a bit hesitant to add it to my list. Unfortunately though, it is probably the most important gift I can give myself this year. I will write a post (within the next week) detailing exactly what my health and fitness goals are for the year; long-term and short-term. This is the one I’m going to need you to keep my accountable on.

4. landscaping & gardening


I wrote a post a while back which explains the state of my garden for most of the past year. This year is going to be different! I’ve already started up my herb garden again, potted and ready to go, I’ve done some minor weeding in the front yard (which has already made a huge difference), and Lynden has cleaned up the mess on the back patio. We’re already on track but there is so much left to do. This year, I’d like to have the front and backyard completely done, re-landscaped and beautiful.

5. home renovations

This is another one that I’ve been putting off but really needs to be accomplished this year to keep our home-life healthy. I’d like to finish all the painting, sanding, and decorating before the year ends.

6. work & study

This one is tricky at the moment as I’ve just quit my photography course and I’m currently not working. I’d like to work this year to start saving for a deposit on a home with Lynden (we’re currently renting) and I’d like to start studying something I’m passionate about in the long-term.

Wow, so it turns out I have a few aspirations for 2012! I know I am more than capable of accomplishing all my goals, I just need to keep up the motivation. I also have to remember that if I fall off the wagon, there’s nothing stopping me from getting back up and trying again…I don’t need to wait until next year’s resolutions.

How about you, any resolutions? Do you think I’m just being crazy with the goals I’ve setup for myself?

Leave a comment

