Confidence

There is a fine line between confidence and arrogance. I know that beauty is in the heart, but I think a confident woman has a special kind of beauty. A strength in character that doesn’t mean she’s arrogant but rather content with who she is. There are so many things that impact every woman’s sense of self-worth and for some reason it is so easy to find women who believe they aren’t worth much, whether they tell you in those words or not. Even my own mind plays against itself in a constant battle against good and evil, worthiness and emptiness, hope and hopelessness. I know I’m starting to sound a little bit dramatic over here, so getting to the point – I am not confident most of the time. I pretend like I am, but as soon as one of my thin shells break, bam…I’m broken. So easy.

I want to make changes in my life so I don’t have to harden my heart in order to survive as a strong woman. I want to give myself a head-start by building up my character so the shells that protect me aren’t quite so easily cracked and shattered…but in the same breath I also want to retain my poise and dignity. Wow. Yeah I am getting very dramatic, and maybe a little too deep. So let me end with a nice soft landing. I’m going to write a list of the things I want to do to develop this confidence and contentedness. I hope that writing it down here, as vulnerable as it make me, might keep me accountable.

I want to:

1. Enjoy the silences

2. Take care of my body (exercising and healthy eating can be so empowering)

3. Stand tall

4. Find my sense of fashion (I truly believe that when you feel confident in what you’re wearing, you’ll be more confident in what you’re saying)

5. Think positive

6. Write down the things I’m proud of

7. Pray more often

In other words, I want to feel more like this:

J.Crew

And less like this:

dressdesigndecor

I hope this post isn’t too ostentatious.

Happy Weekend x

Leave a comment

