Assignments and Lighting

This week I’ve been hectically working on assignments, I have three due next week. The hardest thing so far has been working on a montage and DVD menu in Photoshop. I am absolutely loving Photoshop and the potential it provides for my future work, but I have no experience with it. Everything I’ve tried so far  is looking very cliche, cheesy, and somewhat unprofessional. I’m really enjoying working on these projects though because they’re teaching me a lot about the general techniques used that I can later incorporate into my editing process. In my other assignments, we’re looking very closely at depth, motion and lighting. I don’t want to post any pictures of my finished work until I’ve submitted them next week, so I’ve found some images I shot in June that demonstrate a basic idea of what I’ve been working on in terms of lighting. I’m also including the metadata of each of these images, just in case it helps.

One of our friends is doing a sound engineering course in the city. He asked me if I could do a recording for him for one of his assignments – I used to do a lot of singing. While we were in the studio, I couldn’t help but take some pictures of the setup.

The picture below is shot at 1/6 sec, f 5.6, ISO 2000 with no flash, only the overhead lighting. I then edited out some of the yellow tones using lightroom to get rid of the warmth created by tungsten lighting.

This image is taken at 1/5 sec, f 5.6, ISO 2000, again with no flash. In this one I kept most of the yellow. Because of the contrast and shadows, this image has a moodier, more dramatic feel to it.

This one is shot at 1/60 sec, f 5.6, ISO 2000 with flash. You can see that this picture has a ‘cooler’ feel, which is caused from the in-built flash on my camera.

Even if you’re not really sure what the numbers above represent, you can see how slight variations in the manual settings can create a different look to an image, as well as the effect of using flash versus no flash. I can’t wait to share some of the assignments I’ve been working on next week.

Leave a comment

