This is how it begins

The start of something new is one of the most daunting things for me to handle. That horrible fear of failing and rejection.

Well today I’m laughing in fear’s face. Ha…I will learn to photograph incredible pictures; to take my love for capturing beauty with a camera, into a story that may never have been told otherwise, forgotten. I plan on sharing this journey of photography and life for anyone to see. Why? Because beauty should be shared and admired. Because I don’t know what I’m doing and I hope that someone out there does (and helps me understand how to do better).

Because I’m secretly hoping that one day I’ll be a great photographer; a soulful storyteller. Maybe one day I’ll tell others’ stories too. Maybe is enough for now. In the meantime I’ll continue my degree at university. I’ll plod along with the life I’m supposed to want. But all along I’ll be here – dreaming of a different reality.

This is my new camera, my first DSLR – a Canon EOS 60D with an 18-55mm lens.

The above picture was taken by my trusty Canon IXUS 90 (seen below)

So this is how it all begins…with a camera. And a whole lot of passion.

3 thoughts on “This is how it begins

  1. Aveline says:

    It all begins with a dream Haidy and a great load of passion!! You will do wonders!!

  2. Kimberley says:

    Haidy, I just discovered your blog! Congratulations, and wow, your photos are beautiful! I got my first DSLR for Christmas too…they’re sooooooooooo fun!!! Can’t wait to see more of your beautiful pictures. x

Leave a comment

